People Aim for the Stars…

“People aim for the stars, and they end up like goldfish in a bowl. I wonder if it wouldn’t be simpler just to teach children right from the start that life is absurd.”

When I went to the library a few weeks ago I found this book, and browsing quickly through the pages this particular quote above made me borrow it and read it (two times already) and love it. I’m soon going to add this book to my own shelves. Which book am I talking about?

Well, The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery.  I’ve got to say that it is really a fascinating book to read for everyone like me who like books about books and philosophy. It is about Renée, the concierge in a luxury Parisian block of flats who hides her own personality and her interest in great literature, culture and other more cultivated interests. Instead she displays herself as a kind of dumb but reliable persona, which she thinks is what the society expects of her. It is also about twelve year old Paloma, a hyper intelligent child who has decided to kill herself on her 13th birthday, in order to prevent a (in her eyes) dreadful future decided by her family. These two get to know each other, when one of the people living in the house suddenly dies and a new neighbour moves in. I recommend you all to read it!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

