Fashion Blog News: Hailee Steinfeld for Miu Miu

As promised earlier, here is my post about 14 year old actress Hailee Steinfeld and her campaign photos for Miu Miu. I have been thinking alot about this, and the main question on my mind, and many others, is “Is she too young for this?”. The opinions vary heavy, I have noticed from reading on the Internet. One blogger wrote that she finds it unpleasant that such a young model is representating Miu Miu, which she thinks is a brand for adults. A other person thought it was scary to see a “Baby Beauty Queen” in the front line for a world famous brand. Some others thinks that a new IT-girl has been born, and that her star is rising fast in the fashion world.

Looking at the photos, you can see Hailee dressed from head to toes in Miu Miu, eating pizza, walking on a train track and lying in a bed full with shoes. Everything with a smile. The message I get is that they are trying to portay a rich girl who is still a kid, soon stepping into adulthood. I got these feeling of seeing doing typical kid stuff like eating food with her hands in one photo, and in the next looking all serious and grown up, sitting in a chair. This set of photos actually is to portray a teenager, and what is better then using a teenager for it?

As most of you know, Miu Miu is Pradas younger line, which means it’s directed to young women. In other words, teenagers and early twenties. Looking closer to the Miu Miu collections, it is not that hard to get, prints of animals, glitter and cute bows is seen. Typical for young women who do not wear formal clothing so much (as they do not work, but go to school instead). Also, Hailee herself said in a press release that, and I quote: It’s so much fun to have the chance to work with such a gifted designer and wear these incredible clothes. I feel so lucky to be a part of it.

Once again, many people probably think she is very young, but I do think she is old enough to make her own decisions. This is not diffrent from sport stars that joins a team at 6 years old, or an young talented artist. Is it just because it is a commercial campaign people react?  She clearly enjoy this, should she not be able to do the things which makes her happy? I think so atleast.

 

 

6 comments

  1. I actually really like this shoot. I think if it was someone else I wouldn’t like it so much, but that girl strikes me as down to earth, and genuinely stylish. And also, she looks like a real person. And I agree that Miu Miu is more of a young person’s brand. I can see the controversy, but actually I find this shoot speaks to me much more than many with models that people swoon over but who don’t represent me at all–that tedious as hell Freya Beja or whatever her name is, for example…

    1. I did like it to, I was just so wailing back and forward if it was right to use such a young person. But in the end, I came to the conclusion she got all the right in the world to do this. And I agree with you, I rather see a person as she fronting Miu Miu then any model. More real people.🙂

  2. What people don’t seem to take into consideration is the fact that SO many high fashion brands – who don’t even have teenagers as their main target audience – use models who are as young as Hailee, with the exception that people don’t even know how young those models are. Instead, they are portraited as and supposed to represent adult women, the brands reproducing the unhealthy and youth obsessed ideals of today.

    1. That is true. I guess it is good atleast that they do tell how old she is, and don’t try to show her as an adult, because she is not. It is a tiny step into the right direction, where people are being proud the age they are in, not trying everything to be younger.

Leave a Reply

